Search Country List

Regional Groups


The Union of Comoros consists of three Indian Ocean islands, namely Anjouan (Nzwani), Moheli (Mwali) and Grand Comore (Njazidja), of which the latter is the largest. The island group is located at the northern end of the Mozambique Channel, between the east coast of the African mainland and the island of Madagascar. Countries nearest to the Comoros are Mozambique on the mainland to the west, and Madagascar to the southeast.

  • Capital: Moroni
  • Currency: Comorian Franc
  • Population: 795,601
  • Area: 1860 km²: Grand Comoro (1146 km²), Anjouan (424 km²), Mohéli (290 km²) (Mayotte, not included – 375 km²)
  • GDP $ : $1.329 billion (2017
  • Internet domain: .km
  • Languages: French, Arabic (official language)
  • Exports: Rice and other foodstuffs; cement; petroleum products; consumer goods; transport equipment
  • Imports: Cloves; perfume oil; copra; ylang-ylang trees and products