Search Country List

Regional Groups

Western Sahara

Western Sahara is a disputed territory in the Maghreb region of North Africa, partially controlled by the self-proclaimed Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic and partially Moroccan-occupied, bordered by Morocco proper to the north, Algeria to the northeast, Mauritania to the east and south, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west. Its surface area amounts to 266,000 square kilometres (103,000 sq mi). It is one of the most sparsely populated territories in the world, mainly consisting of desert flatlands. The population is estimated at just over 500,000, of which nearly 40% live in Laayoune, the largest city in Western Sahara

  • Capital: El-Aaiún
  • Currency: Moroccan dirham, Algerian dina
  • Population: 513,000
  • Area: 266,000 km²
  • GDP $ : 908.9 million
  • Internet domain: .eh
  • Languages: Arabic (official language) , Taneẓroft Tutrimt, Spanish and French.
  • Exports: Fuel for fishing fleet, foodstuffs
  • Imports: Phosphates 62%